Skip to content

edu180atl: wendy albrecht 11.30.12

A more appropriate question for me to answer today would probably be “What didn’t you learn today?” As a new mom, taking care of an almost four-week old AND myself requires a level of concentration and dedication that I had heretofore never imagined! Some of the lessons that have helped me through these fantastic first few weeks are as follows:

  1. Hygiene is negotiable for adults. As long as babies are clean and happy, you don’t mind taking showers every other day. (or every other other day!)
  2. Naps are important for babies and mommies.
  3. When there isn’t time for a nap for mommies, relaxing with your feet up is the next best thing.
  4. Spit up happens.
  5. So does poop. If it doesn’t faze the baby, it shouldn’t faze you!
  6. Hormones are tricky beasts. Learn to ride the wave.
  7. Spending time outside can calm down mommies and babies when numbers 4, 5, and 6 are a little too much to take.
  8. Snuggling with a tiny person can make absolutely everything better!

As much as I miss my darling students, I can’t imagine spending this time with anyone besides my precious angel. I know that this whole mom thing is still really new and my role still very changeable, but right now, and forever, this is the most magical time I can possibly conceive of experiencing! This is challenging in a way that calls to my very soul and feeds my teacher’s spirit completely.

About the author: Wendy Albrecht (@gwalbrecht) loves spending time with her almost 4-week old daughter 🙂

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Stephen Kennedy #

    Wonderfully fresh and candid! I recall when our three were a month old. A wild blur of diapers, spit-up, and sleepless tears. They are 17 now. I’d do it again in a heartbeat. Thank you!

    November 30, 2012
  2. Natalie Sterrett #

    Congrats again on your beautiful baby! You are amazing, and your post is very inspiring! Je t’aime!

    November 30, 2012
  3. What a beautiful reflection on the wonder of parenthood. I just hope you didn’t forgo a nap to write it!

    December 1, 2012
  4. Maryellen Berry #

    Your words, Wendy, brought me right back to that stage of parenthood. The smells will change. The worries will change. But the love for your child only deepens – even when the spit up changes!

    December 1, 2012
  5. Congratulations. Enjoy. Persevere. Thank you.

    December 2, 2012
  6. Hola amiga! I am happy to hear you and your “wonderful and tiny expression of life” are already bonding and learning from each other. It is part of the three L’s (as I see it) which are key to the dynamic and ever changing world of parenting: listening to the other, learning from the other and loving the other unconditionally. ¡Felicidades!

    December 5, 2012

Leave a Reply

