Skip to content

edu180atl: sam glover 12.3.12

 

Upon realizing that I am in fact turning 17 in few days time, I have been in state of mild shock. How can I actually be 17 years old? Where did 16, 15, 14 go? Although high school has not been the time of my life and many days seem to last an age, I guess it is flying by. Being only 17, each year seems so significant. Each different age is something to be cherished. Age is tied to time and time is completely mystifying. Personally I would go as far as to say that we can never fully grasp it, and cannot be entirely measured. So, I ask the question: Is age truly a measure of our growth?

The day I got on a plane to the Miami airport and took the first step on my greatest adventure yet, July 6, I grew. The day I saw my sister in the hospital, I grew. The day I got on a plane by myself, I grew. The day my dog died and I saw my dad cry, January 18, I grew. The day I got in a car accident, October 12, I grew.  The day I watched 5 movies back to back and discovered a passion for film that has fueled my dreams since, I grew.

Never on my birthday, have I categorically grown. My birthday measures my numerical age. It does not, however, measure my growth. As I grow, I am learning that age is just a number.

About the Author: 
Sam Glover is a Junior at Holy Innocents’ who hopes to the travel the world, tell stories and grow.

 

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Insightful reflection, Sam, on how we truly grow – not in years but in experiences. Thank you.

    December 3, 2012
  2. Gérard Gatoux #

    ¡Que bonito y sabio! ¡Estoy de acuerdo contigo!

    December 4, 2012
  3. Bravo! Measure a life in learning and growth, not just 365-day parcels. Thanks, Sam.

    December 4, 2012
  4. ¡Hola Sam! Although age is a practical tool for controlling and keeping track of people, it does not consider who we truly are. Some schools in Sweden and Belgium group students by their developmental readiness instead of their age. It makes learning and growing funner, easier and less painful. It also puts less emphasis on your numerical age and focuses more on your growth. Until we start doing that, it is great to have reflections like yours remind us of how relative time is. At any rate, Feliz Cumpleanos and may this year present the best growth ever!

    December 4, 2012

Leave a Reply

