Skip to content

edu180atl: julia p. 12.5.12

Sometimes we all have too much pressure! I have learned there are ways to help me cope with that pressure!  Every morning at my school we have a short morning meeting, and several days were devoted to time management and handling too much pressure. Using Angela Maiers’s habitude list as our guide, we found that perseverance is the key component to time management. On some nights I find I have too much homework along with my swimming practice and guitar lessons. I have to make tough choices, and I have learned it is better not to just rush through my homework if time has me crunched to get everything done. We read Peter Reynolds’ book, So Few of Me, and I loved watching the young boy, Leo, make so many lists he felt he needed to multiply himself to get it all done. Leo decided he needs to do less so he could do his best. This little book spoke volumes to me.  Just talking in our meetings about how to manage time has helped me learn to make better choices with my life’s daily problems.

About the Author: Julia P. is a sixth grade student at Woodward Academy’s North campus. She knows she is a “genius and the world needs her contribution.” Julia enjoys learning, giggling, and talking!

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Stephen G. Kennedy #

    Julia – I love your writing here. All of us seem to have so many pressure and time demands — talking about those and reflecting on how to lighten the load can certainly help. You seem wise about how to lift some of the strain from yourself, which is important. Having taught sixth grade years ago – I know I contributed to my students’ stress. But when they wrote creatively, it reduced their burden. Your writing has reduced my own burden today. Thank You!

    December 5, 2012
  2. Debbie Stephens #

    I am so glad to know you are learning from our morning meetings and wanted to share with others. We all are always learning how to make good choices with our time.

    December 5, 2012
  3. Lee Vincent #

    Julia-You have gained an insight that will serve you well all your life. Thank you for sharing in such honest and articulate way.

    December 5, 2012
  4. Wendy Albrecht #

    Good luck, Julia! I hope this lesson serves you well in the future, I know it helped me get through college and grad school:)

    December 6, 2012
  5. Eric Brown #

    Julio, what a great post! You are a great leader and I am very lucky to be one of your teachers!

    December 7, 2012

Leave a Reply

