Skip to content

edu180atl: sarah borne 12.14.2012

Today, as I end a week full of last minute projects and stressful exam reviews, I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel. With what seems to be a constant flow of school work, I think its safe to say that it has been a very long semester. I honestly feel that I have not relaxed completely since the end of summer. Even at night I find myself lying awake unable to shut my mind off, running through my to-do list.

This stress is exemplified in my recently diagnosed temporomandibula joint disorder or commonly known as TMJ. I can’t find a place of comfort amidst all the people and projects that are pulling for my attention. For the past weeks, I have been running around my entire K-12 school almost everyday collecting the hundreds of toys that the school has donated. While of course it is a great problem to have, it can be quite exhausting trying to keep every school happy. But somehow today I came across some sort of epiphany. Today as I reached to collect yet another box full of toys in the hallway, my friend stopped me and said “Sarah, you don’t have to collect these, aren’t there a lot of other people on your committee? Ask someone else.” And it hit me.

I never ask for help.

I bring all of these responsibilities on to myself and never reach out for assistance from anybody outside of my family. I can’t tackle it all on my own. Clearly, I have found something I can work on in 2013.

About the author:  Sarah Borne is a junior at Holy Innocents’ and an aspiring actress who hopes to make a difference in the world one toy drive at a time.

 

 

 

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Gérard #

    ¡Gracias por haber compartido esto con nosotros! ¡No olvides relajarte! ¡Feliz Navidad y Próspero Año Nuevo! Con mucho cariño.

    December 14, 2012

Leave a Reply

