Skip to content

edu180atl: lily morgan 1.15.12

I have been a part of the cross country team since I came to Westminster in sixth grade. I’ve never been particularly good at running, but I’ve always really enjoyed being part of the team. A few days ago, I decided to go on a run after school. I had a really stressful day and I had so much to do, but I had this incredibly strong desire to run. So I went down to the trails, and just started running. I was completely alone, which looking back on it, might not have been the safest idea… anyway. I don’t think I have ever felt more peaceful or relaxed than during that 35 minute run. And today, after another equally stressful day, I think I finally figured out why I felt that way: I was in control of everything in my life at that moment. I didn’t have to worry about homework or tests or friends or anything: all I had to worry about was putting one foot in front of the other.

So today, I have a challenge for everyone who is reading this: if you’re feeling stressed about anything, go on a run. Go as slow or as fast as you want to. You might not be in the mood for running (I almost never am), but I can promise you that you will feel much better after you’re done. Sometimes all we need is a little distraction from the real world, and I think that running is the perfect distraction.

About the author: Lily Morgan, a ninth grader at Westminster, loves to play lacrosse and practice violin. She hopes to be an architect or a lawyer, and is terrified of fish. 

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Maryellen Berry #

    Lily, I know exactly what you mean about relaxing when you run. Exercise has that effect. I also have found that I have done some of my best thinking when I have been on a run or walk. Sometimes, it helps to work through things in another setting.

    January 15, 2013
  2. Lily, Thanks for the great post and the reminder that sometimes the best thing we can do is find a way to take a healthy break from those things that stress us out. You are so right: the fresh air, getting the blood moving, working the body, and having nothing to focus on but the trail right in front of you… these are great cures for many an ailment! I think it’s great that you’ve found comfort in your runs. Keep it up! And, in the meantime, I hope the other stressors will diminish, too. Running provides another great mirror of the way to handle stressors and long to-do-lists… you just have to keep putting one foot in front of the other. Eventually you’ll climb that mountain (or finish that homework, etc).

    January 15, 2013
  3. Shannon Hipp #

    Lily, Great to read your clear and thoughtful post. I see you are keeping up the deep thinking, excellent writing, and of course, running! Thanks for contributing to edu180atl! Dr. Hipp 🙂

    January 16, 2013
  4. Bo Adams #

    Lily,
    I so appreciate your post; thanks for sharing it here. When you say that you had had a stressful day and so much to do, I love that you prioritized one of the most important “tasks” on our To-Do list – our health and mindfulness. Those who can keep these things priorities seem to enjoy and impact life more fully, in my opinion. Kudos to you for helping readers refocus on what truly should be nearer the top of our lists.

    Mr. Adams

    January 17, 2013

Leave a Reply

